Saut au contenu principal
print small medium large 


About the Assembly

The Legislative Assembly is the parliament of Prince Edward Island, made up of the law-makers and the independent offices and officials who support their work. The 27 elected members represent the constituents of their respective districts as the House considers legislation. Once legislation is passed by the members and assented to by the Lieutenant Governor it becomes law.

Most importantly, the members of the Legislative Assembly are responsible for approving the financial proposals of the government, holding the Premier and Cabinet accountable for their actions and for departmental expenditures.  This is a key function of the Legislative Assembly, ensuring the public - through its elected members - has a say in how public monies are spent.

The public is welcome to attend a sitting of the legislature, which traditionally sits twice a year beginning in April and again in November. During a sitting the legislature is in session on the following days and times:

Sitting Hours  
  Monday Closed
  Tuesday 2:00pm - 5:00pm, 7:00pm - 9:00pm
  Wednesday 2:00pm - 5:00pm
  Thursday 2:00pm - 5:00pm, 7:00pm - 9:00pm
  Friday 10:00am - 1:00pm
  Saturday Closed
  Sunday Closed

For more information on the rich history and symbols of the Island's legislature, visit the pages linked below.

Annual Reports

Reports are issued in the year following the time period covered by the report. For example, the 2008 annual report covers January to December 2007.

Annual Report 2017

Annual Report 2016

Annual Report 2015

Annual Report 2014

Annual Report 2013

Annual Report 2012

Annual Report 2011

Annual Report 2010

Annual Report 2008

Annual Report 2007


French - back to top