Skip to Main Content
print small medium large 

HOME / ASSEMBLY OFFICES / PRESS RELEASES /


Legislative Chamber Now Open to Visitors

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, July 7, 2016 - The Chamber of the Legislative Assembly of Prince Edward Island, in the Honourable George Coles Building, is now open for visitors from 9:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. and 1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m., Mondays through Fridays, until August 26. Our Student Intern - Visitor Guide is on site during those hours to greet visitors and tell them about the Assembly, with services offered in both French and English.

Some of the topics that will be covered include the long and colourful history of the Assembly, the importance of the various symbols and objects found within the Chamber, as well as the role that the Assembly plays today in passing laws and upholding our democratic traditions.

The Legislative Assembly of Prince Edward Island is the product of a long and vibrant history dating back to the first House of Assembly in 1773. In 1847, construction of Province House was almost complete and the first sitting was held providing a permanent home for our elected officials to debate the issues of the day and pass laws that govern the Island.

The Legislative Assembly Chamber was located on the 2nd floor of Province House from then until January 2015. The building was closed for major conservation work last year and is slated to reopen in 2021. With conservation efforts underway, the Chamber is now located on the 1st floor of the Honourable George Coles Building, located on 175 Richmond Street.

The Chamber will be closed to the public during the week of July 11-15 and Gold Cup and Saucer Day (August 19) holidays.

More information can be found at the Visitor Information page on the Legislative Assembly’s website (www.assembly.pe.ca/visitorinfo).
 
Media contact:
JoAnne Holden
Director of Communications and External Relations
Legislative Assembly of Prince Edward Island
 
jdholden@assembly.pe.ca
902-368-4316

 

back to top