Chamber of the Legislative Assembly Now Open to Visitors
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, June 7, 2017 -- The Chamber of the Legislative Assembly of Prince Edward Island, in the Honourable George Coles Building, is now open for visitors from 9:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. and 1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m., Mondays to Friday, until September 1. Our Student Intern - Visitor Guide is on site during those hours to greet visitors and tell them about the Assembly, with services offered in both French and English.
Some of the topics that are typically covered include the long and colourful history of the Assembly, the importance of the various symbols and objects found within the Chamber, as well as the role that the Assembly plays today in passing laws and upholding our democratic traditions.
The Legislative Assembly of Prince Edward Island is the product of a vibrant history dating back to the first House of Assembly in 1773. In 1847 the Assembly first met in Province House, which provided a permanent home for our elected officials to debate the issues of the day and pass laws that govern the Island.
The Legislative Assembly Chamber was located on the 2nd floor of Province House from then until January 2015. The building was closed for major conservation work that year and is slated to reopen in 2020. With conservation efforts underway, the Chamber is now located on the 1st floor of the Honourable George Coles Building, located at 175 Richmond Street.
The Chamber will be closed to the public on July 3 and August 18 due to holidays.
More information can be found at the Visitor Information page on the Legislative Assembly’s website, (http://www.assembly.pe.ca/visitorinfo).