Skip to Main Content
print small medium large 


Order of Prince Edward Island Recipients Announced

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, June 28, 2019 - The 2019 recipients of the Order of Prince Edward Island were announced today by the Chancellor of the Order, Her Honour the Honourable Antoinette Perry, Lieutenant Governor of Prince Edward Island and Mr. Gerard Greenan, Chair of the Order of Prince Edward Island Advisory Council.

The three Islanders selected to receive the honour are:

    Jeannette Arsenault of Albany;
    Leo Broderick of Charlottetown; and,
    Dr. Najmul H. Chishti of Charlottetown.

These three individuals were selected from a total of 46 Islanders nominated to receive the award this year.

The honour was first conferred in 1996 as a means of recognizing those Islanders who have shown individual excellence or outstanding leadership in their community and in their chosen occupation or profession. It is the highest honour that can be accorded to a citizen of the Province. It is awarded annually following a public nomination process with recipients being selected by an independent nine-person Advisory Council each year. Insignia of the Order will be presented by the Lieutenant Governor at a special investiture ceremony in September at Government House, Charlottetown.

For more information on the Order of Prince Edward Island, visit the OPEI website.

Media contact:
Cindy Cheverie
Office of the Lieutenant Governor




back to top